Escape key is too eager when creating tasks or projects


#1

When I try to create a new task or project, pressing Escape cancels the dialog a bit too easily for me. I could have spent a couple of minutes typing out the title, tags and a note and it’s all gone with a single tap of Escape.

I’d suggest:

  • When the user started editing a task (any of the fields has been changed) and he tries to cancel, ask for a confirmation. Maybe you could add an exception to this rule when only the title has been edited.
  • When the tag dropdown is open, Escape should close the dropdown instead of cancel task creation.

#2

I assume you try to close the tag drop-down by pressing esc, but instead it closes the whole editor. Is that correct?

I don’t like the pop-up on escape idea. There should be a way to cancel things instantly.

But I agree that it would be better to close the tag selector drop-down, instead of closing the whole editor. I will add it to the list of small improvements.


#3

I’d also like the escape button to cancel out the drop-down field when working with tags, at that has several times made me cancel the task I’m adding.

Something else that might have been helpful would have been if you canceled out a task by accident, creating a new one right afterwards would possibly keep the old values
Not sure the best solution for this, as it would be annoying if you’d also end up trying to create an entirely new task and it would be pre-filled with other information.

Maybe some kind of “refill previously closed information” type of button.
Just wanted to put it out there, but could this would be a non-issue once the tags drop-down field has been fixed


#4

Yeah, that’s it!

I can agree there. I couldn’t think of how often I cancel out of creating a task, but it could definitely be often enough to have insta-cancel available.

This could be interesting, though maybe confusing UX-wise. I don’t know, honestly.

An “undo” button could be worth trying, too (like the snackbar that appears when you delete a message in Gmail). Undo the cancel sounds quite confusing, but you could have a snackbar-ish thing that says: “Cancelled new task. Restore