Combination of sequential and parallel projects

I’m quite new to organizing my tasks with GTD, and just started using projects at all yesterday. So I do have a few questions about them.

Combination of sequential and parallel projects

Already in my first tries with projects, I came across a few examples where I see sequential as well as parallel actions. Two examples:

Examples

Writing a letter

I have a doctor’s appointment and when I scheduled it, the doctor gave me the task to write down my symptoms history. I understand writing this letter as a sequential project like this:

1. Write the letter (label “PC”, since I write it here)
  2. Print the letter (labels “home”, “phone” and “PC”, since my printer is at home, but I can use either my PC or my phone to print the document if it is saved on my NAS)
  3. Put the letter in an envelope and put a stamp on it (label “home”)
  4. Send the letter (label “outside”)

Now, I forgot if I should really send the letter or just bring it with me to the appointment. So another project task would be: “Call the doctor and ask if I should send the letter or just bring it with me to the appointment.” I can still do tasks 1 on and two, though before I made the call. The call is only relevant to clarify if tasks 3 and 4 are necessary.

Terminate my lease contract

Let’s say I want to terminate my lease contract. The steps (as actions in a sequential project) would be the same as in the first example:

1. Write the letter (label “PC”, since I write it here)
  2. Print the letter (labels “home”, “phone” and “PC”, since my printer is at home, but I can use either my PC or my phone to print the document if it is saved on my NAS)
  3. Put the letter in an envelope and put a stamp on it (label “home”)
  4. Send the letter (label “outside”)